Pretty Pink Toes

These are Ally’s pretty pink toes.  That’s what she calls them- “my pretty pink toes!”

Yesterday, after I dropped Eric off at preschool, I decided that Ally and I needed some time together.  We went to the nail salon.  For 45 minutes we sat and had a great time together and she was perfect the entire time.  She dazzled the nail techs with her “pretties” (her pig tails) and her dimples and big green eyes.  She picked our color, and decided that we needed flowers (with some gentle prodding of the nail tech).

She sat in my lap, we gave kisses and smiles and back scratches.  We had THE PERFECT DAY.  I get to have more of these now that my job won’t be holding me back anymore.  She made my cup runneth over.  We had such a good day I could cry! (don’t get me wrong- later in the day she handed me her dirty diaper, but you catch my drift)

On the job front, my Director asked me if I would work part time.  I agreed to do so, different responsibilities and no training of really stupid people (woo hoo!).  I will be working ONLY 12 hours per week.  I made it very clear that I would only work the hours that I am underpaid for.  It’s a good fit for me since it gives me the opportunity to go back full time when the kids are in school and doesn’t make me so nervous for my future career (and the hallways won’t need to be replaced from somebody pacing too much).

I feel like things are starting to look up!

And P.S- my toes look just like hers.  Yup, they match!

5 Responses to “Pretty Pink Toes”

  1. 1 TheIdiotSpeaketh September 30, 2011 at 8:21 am

    Glad things are improving a bit for you Jamie! And be honest….those are actually YOUR feet on top aren’t they? :)

  2. 3 John Erickson September 30, 2011 at 10:23 am

    Sounds like a (very well-deserved) good day. And it’s good to hear that the boss values you enough to compromise. Now go out and have some more fun – you’re WAY overdue! :D

  3. 4 savorthefolly September 30, 2011 at 10:40 am

    That’s wonderful Jamie. Those mother daughter moments are so special. :)

  4. 5 Elizabeth October 3, 2011 at 9:05 am

    I love this! And great news/congrats on the job compromise. Truly sounds like the perfect fit, and a perfect avenue for when you are ready to go back full time.

Leave a Reply

Previous Happenings

My Ramblings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 302 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 258,465 hits
Creative Commons License
The Life of Jamie by Jamie S. is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 302 other followers

