I Am Woman- Hear Me ROAR!

Inspired by blogging buddy Lisa at Woman Wielding Words, who posted about the dangers of the new proposed birth control law, I am going to ROAR in this post.  It’s political, it’s religious, it’s my freedoms at stake.  I will ROAR and you will like it.  If you don’t like it- don’t read it.

Birth control pills.

When I was 16, I started taking birth control pills.  I hadn’t had sex yet.  I took them because my cramps were so bad, I ended up in the hospital.  Pills regulated my cycle, and later on in life, kept me from getting pregnant.  They did not and DO NOT cause abortions.  Per WebMD birth control pills prevent ovulation, changes the cervical mucus (ew she said mucus) and makes the uterus inhospitable for implantation.  None of those equate with an abortion.

The new birth control bill that has been proposed threatens the very freedoms that we Americans stand for.  It suggests that employers who do not believe in contraception do not have to allow for it in their insurance plans.  It also is the gateway drug for new kinds of discrimination.  The corporation can deny maternity coverage to a same-sex or interracial couple if they don’t believe in that.  Blood transfusions could be denied because an employer might not believe in it.  This law is allowing men and women who are not doctors to decide what you are entitled to based on THEIR beliefs.

When I worked as a teacher in the Simi Valley Unified School District here in California, I had to pay 40 bucks a month for birth control pills because the board didn’t agree with it.  The “Board” was a bunch of crotchedy old men who don’t need to worry about getting pregnant.  I was able to afford the 40 bucks, but without it, there would have most definitely been an unplanned pregnancy.  If we are going by public perception, an unwed mother looks a lot worse than a “pill popper” to me.

This bill is not just dangerous to women and teenage girls, it is dangerous to all human beings.  Currently my good friend’s two year old is in the hospital and may need a blood transfusion because he is dangerously anemic.  If her husband worked for an organization run by a Jehovah’s Witness, they would be denied the life saving blood transfusion because it is against the belief system of a JW.  Explain the fairness in that.  Why is a NON-doctor allowed to make decisions in my healthcare.  What if I was a drinker who had changed my ways, but still had health issues as a result?  Would that mean my employer could deny me transplant coverage because I used to be an alcoholic and he didn’t deem me worthy?

Don’t play God with my life.  I have a God and he is the only one allowed to make these decisions.  If it’s my time to go, it’s my time.  I do not want more children.  My husband had a vasectomy because birth control pills make me crazy.  If he was not allowed that vasectomy and I got pregnant (because those things do happen), you would have a family struggling to make ends meet, assuming that the crazy mother didn’t divorce the crazy father.

If I had gotten pregnant as a teenager, would I have had an abortion?  Chances are pretty high.  I’m glad I didn’t have to make that choice, but I have friends that did.  I have thought about what would happen if I got pregnant now by accident.  Would I have an abortion?  I would seriously consider it.  Why?  Because it’s my right as a woman to not have a child if I don’t want to.  I do believe that abortions should not be done past a certain time and shouldn’t be used as birth control, but I do believe that it’s every woman’s right to choose if they want to have a baby.  Not a mans, not an employers.  It’s bad enough that Teen Mom is a phenomenon on MTV…do we really want to see pregnant teens on every corner?  Once my daughter becomes a teenager and I have the slightest inkling that she may be having sex, I will gladly put her on the pill.  Why?  Because she can.

If you don’t believe in birth control, abortion or sterilization- don’t do it.  But don’t make it so I can’t.  The fact that this is an issue is scary.  I am a slightly religious person- I go to church on Sundays and pray, but religion has NO place in politics.  The fact that Rick Santorum wants to ban prenatal testing because it discovers birth defects and then doctors give patients the chance to terminate- simply because it goes against his religious beliefs BLOWS MY MIND.  Why does he get to decide the fate and future of people?

I could go on for hours and hours, but I will stop with this- I am not God.  I don’t pretend to be.  Last I heard, the only time you see God is when you meet your maker.  If he doesn’t like what you are up to, you’ll meet another more firey maker.  Until then no one else is God (except for Ryan Reynolds!).  If you want an abortion- have one.  Don’t want to get pregnant- pop a pill.  Need a blood transfusion- tap a vein.  Want to be gay- be loud and proud.  Gay Marriage- sign me up- I’ll officiate.  Inter-racial marriage- all for it- they make the cutest babies.  Woman president- I would have voted for Hillary (not Sarah or Michelle however).

Stop muddling with the freedoms of women and people in general.  This isn’t the middle east- ain’t no man gonna bitch slap me!  I am WOMAN- Hear me ROAR! Oh and did I mention that Senator Roy Blunt of Missouri (you can contact him here) attached the birth control rider to a massive transportation bill?  If that isn’t politicking at it’s finest…

(steps off soapbox to thunderous applause, keys to the mansion on the beach, and 24 uninterrupted hours with George Clooney, Ryan Reynolds and Bradley Cooper- because if I want to commit adultery- I CAN!)

18 Responses to “I Am Woman- Hear Me ROAR!”

  1. 1 Lisa Wields Words February 22, 2012 at 7:43 am

    ROAR! Well said, and thanks for the shout out. I hope more people stand up and ROAR! Something needs to change quickly in this country before we find ourselves living in a country worse than many we have fought against.

  2. 3 John Erickson February 22, 2012 at 8:26 am

    Interesting, in that my wife started on “the pill” for EXACTLY the same reasons, at exactly the same age. Keep your doc advised for the possibility of endomitriosis (?), or whatever the disease is that causes pre-cancerous growths around the ovaries and fallopian tubes. I almost lost my wife to that, and danged if I’ll lose anybody else to it, while I have breath in my body to warn folks.
    Great post. You GO, girl! :D

  3. 5 The Bitchy Truth February 22, 2012 at 8:32 am

    I am also against this bill. People have a misconstrued idea of birth control pills. Personally, my family doctor prescribed them to me when I was 14 to prevent acne. It worked, too! And it did not encourage me to start having sex either!

  4. 7 Scarlett February 22, 2012 at 9:08 am

    *stands to applaud, fumbles for lighter… there it is!*

  5. 8 John February 22, 2012 at 9:53 am

    There’s nothing I can add because you’ve said it all so well.

  6. 9 Chatter Master February 22, 2012 at 11:06 am

    ROAR Jamie! Wonderful post!!!!! Thank you for roaring!

  7. 10 sweffling February 22, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Well said, or should I say well-roared. I do not understand how politicians can make their policy on religious grounds in a country that stands for freedom of the individual. Over here, the mere mention of somebody’s religious beliefs will ensure they do not get elected, whatever they happen to be. Lots of other crazy people get elected, but not on religious grounds: so far. We must not be complacent.

  8. 12 Sunny February 23, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Agree, Agree, Agree.


  9. 13 TheIdiotSpeaketh February 25, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Someone on my FB posted a great pic that you would have loved. It showed a woman undergoing a GYN exam, with her legs up in the stirrups, and the Doc buried beneath the sheet, and you could hear the Doc saying …”OH…I see you have Republicans in your Vagina..” :)

  10. 16 yellowcat February 25, 2012 at 3:44 pm

    This was a very well written, well thought out argument for the current quagmire of un-separation of Church and State.

    Throughout history men have always believed they were experts on women’s issues, but talk to any man about your last trip to the gyno and see how fast he runs away.

    I am Catholic. I do not believe in abortion as birth control. All I can say is it’s not right for me or my family. What is right for you and your family is none of my business, unless I’m willing to step in and make everything right financially, physically and emotionally.

    What I believe in less than abortion, however, are abused and neglected children. The older I get, and the more crappy parents I see, the more I ride the fence on mandatory sterilization.

  1. 1 Fighting Frustration and Fatigue « Woman Wielding Words Trackback on February 22, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Leave a Reply

Previous Happenings

My Ramblings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 258,367 hits
Creative Commons License
The Life of Jamie by Jamie S. is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at www.thelifeofjamie.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.thelifeofjamie.wordpress.com.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

