Take a Hike!

I had a fun weekend.  Too much fun- so I missed writing about the week’s derelicts of society.  It will give me more fuel for next week…

On Saturday, I took the kids for a walk, went to the park, practiced my step routine in my bedroom, while the kids played outside and covered themselves with chalk AND then I went to a Xanadu party!  Talk about fun!  It was a friends birthday and she usually has a birthday month, but has since scaled back to a birthday weekend.

Costumes were optional, but required in my opinion.  I dressed up as ONJ (that’s Olivia Newton John for those of you out of touch) in the tiger print.  I meticulously searched for just the right outfit, hair and make-up.  I think I succeeded.  (I also made it my mission to successfully photo bomb anyone with a camera!

I am a skating fool!

We all actually went to dinner dressed like this!

Photo Bomb!

We went to dinner (yes, I went to dinner at a nice restaurant dressed like that- my friends were dressed much worse) and then on to the roller rink!  We went roller skating!  It was SO MUCH FUN!  I haven’t been roller skating since I was a teenager!  I also forgot how dangerous it is!  I didn’t fall, but watched people crash right and left.  All I could think of was how my dad broke his ribs when he took us roller skating when were younger.  He got stuck in a 5 person pileup and was the recipient of a skate to the ribs. OUCH!

Sunday morning, I woke up bright and early to go hiking on Boney Mountain with some friends from the gym.  I hiked for almost three hours, 5.5 miles, and about 2.5 of those miles were straight up poison oak infested hills!  The people I was with kept going (you can take it to the top of the summit and see the ocean) but I thought it would be best to be able to walk before teaching my step class this morning.  I turned around and hiked down alone (and it was mostly downhill- my fave!).  Since I was alone, I got lost on the way back.  I had to stop at one point and wait 10 minutes for people to hike by so they could tell me where to go!

They are hard to see, but those are deer in the meadow

After that, I took my main squeeze to my neighbor’s 50th anniversary party.  My main squeeze would be Eric.  He was very well behaved the whole time.

So, onto this morning…I have my step class in about an hour and have to do good because I got “talked to” (story for another time) and my legs are fairly sore!  Not fall over when you get out of bed sore, but sore!  Should be an interesting class!

16 Responses to “Take a Hike!”

  1. 1 Lisa Wields Words April 23, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Sounds like a fun weekend, although roller skating and I do not mix. ;)

  2. 3 Chatter Master April 23, 2012 at 8:09 am

    You so owned the ONJ look! Photo bombing skills look pretty good too.

  3. 5 Kathryn McCullough April 23, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend. Hope you have a good class. Hate working out when I’m sore!

  4. 7 yellowcat April 23, 2012 at 2:44 pm

    You forgot the ONJ headband. She started quite a rage with those.

    I LOVE roller skating! I did it as a kid and a teenager, then again when my kids were little. At one point I contemplated buying roller blades for the rink and I asked, “If you fall, how do you get up?” My daughter replied, “It’s easy, mommy. You just crawl to the wall and pull yourself up.” Yeah, a 35 year old woman crawling across a roller rink just screams, “I’ve lost all sense of self respect.” I stuck with the roller skates.

    Glad you had a good weekend!

  5. 9 John Erickson April 23, 2012 at 2:59 pm

    Um … “costumes were optional”? So nudity was the default? Kinda gives a new meaning to the old rink term “free skate”! ;)

  6. 11 Southern Sea Muse April 23, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    What fun! Sounds like a “good sore,” especially if it moved on quickly! :D

  7. 13 Reasons Mommy Drinks April 24, 2012 at 12:52 pm

    DREAM weekend!!! And you totally rocked that ONJ outfit! Roller skating: so many memories from 8th grade birthday parties. *Sigh*

  8. 15 jamieonline April 28, 2012 at 3:11 pm

    Crazy photos – You lunatics! Love it!!!

Leave a Reply

Previous Happenings

My Ramblings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 258,366 hits
Creative Commons License
The Life of Jamie by Jamie S. is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at www.thelifeofjamie.wordpress.com.
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at www.thelifeofjamie.wordpress.com.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

