Change The Movie Cinderelly

I can’t believe she is making me watch this movie.  It’s not even in HD…who the hell gives a crap about some mice and a singing lady in a tower.  I want to watch something else.  NOW.  Maybe if I throw a big enough fit she’ll turn it off.

“I dddddddddooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn’tttttttttttt wannnnnnnnnnnaaaaaaaaaaaaa watch Cinderelllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllla!  Mommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy, I don’t want to watch it!  Turn it off!”

Hmmm…so far she isn’t caving.  She’s still sitting there.  Still typing away.  Hmmm.  What can I do next?  Oh, I know, I will move closer to her and scream louder.  AHEM (come on Ally, force out some tears!)

“I dddddddddooooooooooooooooooooonnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn’tttttttttttt wannnnnnnnnnnaaaaaaaaaaaaa watch Cinderelllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllla!  Mommmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmy, I don’t want to watch it!  Turn it off!”

Oh crap, she’s trying to bribe me with food.  Fine, two can play at this game!

“Mommy, I wanna peanut butter cup.”

Damnit, I don’t want one after I finish my dinner (like that’s going to happen).  I want one now.  Maybe she’ll cave on M&Ms.

“Mommy, I want some M&Ms.”  Still no luck.  Oh, now she’s telling me to get something out of the cabinet…I wish I could reach the good stuff.  “Mommy will you open my ganola bar?”

Why is this movie still on?  Is she stupid?  Doesn’t she understand that I DON’T WANT TO WATCH THIS!  Oh look at that cute mousie!  He talks funny.  No, SNAP OUT OF IT!  We don’t want to watch this movie!

“Mooooooooooooooommmmmmmmmmmmy, I don’t wanna watch Cinderella!  Turn it off!”

The iPad?  I’ll watch the iPad.  Where is it?  I will watch that as loud as I can and until this movie is over.  Oh look at her pretty dress and shoes!  The iPad.  FOCUS!  It’s in the kitchen…okay, what is the most annoying show app on the iPad, oh yes, it’s Curious George.  He can monkey talk for the next hour.  She’s going to keep Cinderella on, I’m going to have the annoying monkey in the background.  Look!  The carriage turns into a pumpkin!

Come on Curious George!  Yum, this granola bar is good.  I can’t believe she’s still watching it.  Oh look at that cute doggie!  He’s chasing the cat!

Why can’t I watch the iPad anymore?  Fine, she takes it away, I’ll go bug her in the kitchen.  She hates it when I bug her when she’s cooking!  She’s making chicken.  Do I like chicken today or don’t I?  I think….not. 

“Ew that’s gross!  I don’t like that!”

Why is she shoving me out of the kitchen?  That’s fine- shove away.  I can come right back in.  That’s the magic of doorways lady!  I’ll show her.  I’m NOT going to eat that chicken, even though it looks pretty good.  I’ll just go to bed without dinner and wake her up EXTRA early!


*This post inspired by Mama Kat’s Writer’s Workshop prompt- What was the last thing your child threw a temper tantrum over? Write a blog post from her point of view.

12 Responses to “Change The Movie Cinderelly”

  1. 1 Kathryn McCullough October 11, 2012 at 6:20 am

    Thank God you survived this one, Lisa! YIKES!

  2. 3 mommylisa October 11, 2012 at 8:50 am

    Cute! Well – in an Alley-kada way.

  3. 4 Jamie@southmainmuse October 11, 2012 at 10:09 am

    If I hear the “it’s gross” for what I’ve got cooking for dinner one more time? Maybe I need to write about it from their point of view? “Maybe she’ll cave on M&Ms?” That’s about right. Too funny.

    • 5 thelifeofjamie October 11, 2012 at 8:20 pm

      The “it’s gross” bugs the F out of me! Yesterday she said chicken is gross, today she asked specifically for chicken. I smack my hand to my forehead and sigh. A lot!

  4. 6 Lisa Wields Words October 11, 2012 at 10:11 am

    Gotta love those kinds. Jeesh.

  5. 7 Andrea October 11, 2012 at 11:08 am

    Nothing like M&Ms to ruin a perfectly good evening. :) I’m afraid to even venture a guess ate what my kids think about me. :)

  6. 9 John Erickson October 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm

    Okay, you’ve convinced me. 6 Valium and a couple Vicodin will be in the mail first thing tomorrow morning. Normally they recommend you don’t take them with alcohol. In this case, I say screw ’em, go straight for the vodka! :D

Leave a Reply

Previous Happenings

My Ramblings

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 303 other followers

Blog Stats

  • 258,364 hits
Creative Commons License
The Life of Jamie by Jamie S. is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-ShareAlike 3.0 United States License.
Based on a work at
Permissions beyond the scope of this license may be available at


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

